If you are going to mint, you might as well make it interesting

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here. I am just a random dude from the community.

I am here to present you what I believe is a great idea for a possible long term repeg. This idea has been inspired by Edd Norris’ idea in the first meetup that Jack had with the validators.

I am going to drop the bomb but please read until the end because I think that it is justified:

LET’S MINT 5 BILLION ONE COINS.

The initial proposal from stse received a massive NO from the community and I believe that it was the execution and not the idea that made this an unpopular choice.

Before I go into the benefits of this execution, I will tell you the rules, for this I will use only USDC as an example:

• Anyone with USDC tokens will be able to swap it for ONE in 3.5 years’ time at a specific date (I will be calling it 1200 days to make it cleaner).
  • The ratio to this swap will be 1 ONE = 0.02 USDC

Sounds bad, right? Well, let’s add something else to it: People will be able to early redeem with the following rules:

• Day 1 the value of the dollar will start at 9 cents.
  • Each day will have a linear increase in value until reaching 1 dollar by day 1200.
  • The formula for early redeem will be:
    • early_redeem = dollar_amount * daily_rate / 0.02
  • As a few examples:
    • If someone wants to redeem 100 dollars on the 1st day, he will get 450 ONE
    • If someone wants to redeem 100 dollars on the 500th day, he will get 2343 ONE
    • If someone wants to redeem 100 dollars on the day 1000th day, he will get 4241 ONE

These new rules have a few pros:

• People that can’t wait for 3.5 years can early redeem at a lower price
  • If price of ONE goes up, people will get better rate quicker
  • Both these previous statements will reduce the 5B inflation to another number yet to study.
  • Harmony’s debt going down will increase trust and then push the price up.
  • You don’t need a snapshot