Interoperability with Harmony

Forewarning: I am not an engineer. My apologies for any misunderstandings of the Harmony protocol.

Preamble
Having read through some of the Omniledger documentation, I wanted to know Harmony’s take on the topic of interoperability. With projects like Cosmos and Aion so deeply focused on the subject, if Harmony is looking to build scalability and growth into their platform, these topics seem imperative to explore on a public forum.

Current Methods
Cosmos is utilizing IBC for their native Tendermint chains, and implementing the 'Peg-zone’ method for external chains. It appears that the peg-zone method is problematic as it requires completely custom-built bridges on a per-chain basis. For those curious, the most notable peg-zone implementation is the Ethereum-Cosmos bridge, Peggy. However, there has to be a more streamlined way to do this. I’m also not sure of how common this approach is at the moment. If anyone can chime in on this it would be greatly appreciated!

Harmony’s Method
Obviously I’m doing a bit of guessing to open the discussion, but does Omniledger’s internal Atomix permit bridging to outside chains? Or is it limited to sharding of a specific protocol?

Furthermore, would creating an additional beacon chain to communicate with other protocols make sense? I would guess this method would not take into account the vast differences in models between protocols and most likely be a dead end?

I’m very curious to hear about Harmony’s approach and if this is documented already. Or, if Harmony is taking a completely novel direction with interoperability.

8 Likes

Hi, Satoshi.

Thanks for the good topic.