Out of Scope: Nobody has built the sports metaverse - Harmony team, let's do it!

Chosen track

[Lead]

About

Hi everyone,

Looks like I’m the first person to be applying for the Harmony Builders & Creatives stream.

I guess it’s best to doxx myself so you guys know more about me (holy crap this is scary!)

Anyways, I’m River, a 10+ year entrepreneur within the UK tech community.

My background is in hackathons, accelerators, and tech.

I started off my career working for a charity helping student entrepreneurs turn their idea into a business.

During this time I also participated in several hackathons for fun, including:

I also organised hackathons as well, the main one at the time being Startup Hacks, which was Europe’s first invite only hackathon. It was at SH where I first learned about Bitcoin!

Through my work I was approached by a really well known entrepreneur, Lee Strafford, to run a startup accelerator in the UK called Dotforge.

Whilst at Dotforge I helped recruit 30 startups onto the programme where they received angel investment, mentorship, and fundraising support.

In 2015 I founded The HackTrain, a hackathon focused on driving forward innovation in the railroad industry. We brought together developers from all around the world to literally hack on a moving train travelling from city to city. The event was so popular I decided to spin it out into a full-time business which we called Hack Partners.

Whilst at HP I led the organisation of 15+ hackathons bringing together 800+ developers from around the world. We ran hackathons all around the world including in France, Germany, and Hong Kong.

Some sponsors included: Bloomberg, the NHS, Microsoft and o2.

The HackTrain, is widely considered to be one of the best hackathons in the world within the hackathon community. We ended up collaborating with major train operating companies such as Deutsche Bahn, SNCF, Network Rail and Hong Kong’s MTR.